Did you know that a nice restaurant is about to open at the Walker House?
"Luca Bella at the Walker House" is slated to open in mid-March, possibly as early as March 9.
The Walker House is our historic gem and was completed in 1887. It was originally going to be a hotel, but it never had a paying guest, thanks to a land boom that never materialized. James and Sue Walker of Kentucky purchased the building in 1889, and it became home to several generations of their family. In 1972 it was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
By the end of the 1990's the building had fallen on hard times. The City of San Dimas wanted to preserve it, so we bought it. With grants and city funds, we planned and carried out the restoration, hiring firms experienced in historic preservation and construction. The Walker House opened again to the public in 2009. The Festival of Arts and the Historical Society call it home, and it will be showcased even more with the new restaurant.
In 2000 John Ebiner voted with the majority in a 3-2 vote to buy the building. The purchase price for this treasured piece of San Dimas history: $550,000!